NaBlaBlah – start writing

For as long as I can remember I’ve been interested in writing. Well, almost as long as I can remember. My earliest memory actually involves roller skates, sidewalk chalk, and a lot of blood… but that’s a story for another time. While it wasn’t my very first memory, I do remember getting my 1st journal. It was a gift from my grandmother and I had recently turned 5. Hm, I still have that somewhere. What does a 5yr old girl have to write about, you ask? Love, drama, and intrigue of course. 5yr old me was also apparently a really big fan of similes.

As I grew older my writing took on different shapes. I published short stories and biographies in elementary school (animals, aliens, and dead composers seemed to be my preferred writing topics), poetry in middle and high school, practiced storytelling in college, and moved into blogging once I left school. I’ve been blogging off and on since then but always seem to drop the pen when I get frustrated or overwhelmed with life. This has always disappointed me because, being so internally focused, writing has always helped me explore my thoughts and re-center myself.

That was when NaBloPoMo came to my rescue! Short for National Blog Posting Month, NaBloPoMo (sponsored by BlogHer) challenges blog writers to post something to their blog every day of November. I really do love writing and think this challenge will help me move towards living a more purposeful and positive life.

November here I come!

6 thoughts on “NaBlaBlah – start writing

Leave a Reply

