Friday Foodlets: Welcome to Naturally November!

Yesterday I mentioned making a nice lunch to cheer myself up. While getting my lunch ready I had a long conversation with my husband about my struggles at work. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before but he is a wonderful combination of protective, supportive, and blunt. It turns out I needed that WAY more than I needed cheese-filled meatballs. But hey, the meatballs were great too!

Forgive me though, back to the point. This post is actually about the meatballs. (Sorry brosef, still love you though!)

Along with participating in NaBloPoMo this year, I have also taken on a healthy eating  challenge for the month of November. The idea for a food challenge came to me last month when I started reading about Lisa and her family over on 100 Days of Real Food. I don’t have 100% exact same feelings as Lisa but I have wanted to clean up my act and her general rules seemed to be a great place to start. So I floated the idea with some of my co-workers. In the end I had one taker. Good enough for me! For the month of November my co-worker and I will be eating real, natural, minimally processed, and whole-grain foods.

For those of you who don’t know me, this is actually a HUGE change. Junk food is my favorite food group (fluffernutter sandwiches anybody?) and DH and I eat out for EVERY meal.

That’s why, to celebrate my first successful week of the challenge I decided to redo an Italian comfort food – meatballs. In keeping with the challenge I made some very special Cheesy Bison Balls. To make the meatballs I used lean Bison meat, an egg, and some seasonings. Oh, and of course a little bit of cheese for the cheesy center.

The verdict?
Bland and overcooked

Haha, oh well. I still smiled when I opened my lunch box and, let’s be honest, that was the rewarding part. I’ve done some research and I’m hoping my next batch will be better.


If you like this post, come back next Friday for food-licious update. I plan to have pictures next time!

If you’d like to join the food challenge reply to this post and/or tag posts on your blog with #NaturallyNovember. Support systems are great and I’d love to see what other folks are doing with their food!

One thought on “Friday Foodlets: Welcome to Naturally November!

  1. Pingback: Friday Foodlets: Part 2 | ZenFichey

Leave a Reply

