Friday Foodlets: Part 2

Welcome to the latest installment of Friday Foodlets!

In last week’s foodlet post I talked about how, along with NaBloPoMo, I have also picked up a healthy eating food challenge which I’ve dubbed #NaturallyNovember. I also promised food pictures this week so here they are!

photo
Monday: Forgot breakfast photos! Lunch was meatball and cheese sliders, applesauce, red and green bell peppers, black beans, and raisins. Raisins are becoming my new favorite afternoon snack.

Tuesday: I had the day off work and met a friend for lunch. Since I wanted to still follow my rules I bought an unsweetened iced tea and a grilled chicken salad. mmm. we were so busy eating and chatting that I didn’t remember to grab a picture. Oops!

photo(1)
Wednesday: Forgot breakfast photos! but it was a two egg scramble and some apple with 2-ingredient peanut butter. Lunch was pulled pork sliders (the pulled pork was leftovers from Tony’s dinner the night before. He ate the parts that had sauce on them since sauce doesn’t meet my food rules), applesauce, red and green bell peppers, black beans, and raisins.
photo(2)
Thursday: Forgot breakfast photos! Lunch was three turkey and cheese rolls, applesauce, edamame, and home-made whole wheat cous cous salad. The ziploc bag is actually empty because I forgot to put raisins in. Boo.

photo(3)
Friday: I remembered to snap a picture of breakfast today! Breakfast was a two egg scramble (left) and a mini honey whole wheat bun with 2-ingredient peanut butter (right). Lunch was three turkey and cheese rolls, red and green bell peppers, lightly salted edamame, some rasins, and home-made whole wheat cous cous salad.

 

Two weeks into the challenge I’d say I’m doing well. I’m starting to see that while so much food out in the world is full of junk, there are still a lot of tasty and healthy choices. I’m curious to see how the rest of the month goes and if I can experiment with a few other options. For now I can say three things for sure:

1) I really like applesauce

2) I didn’t need as much external motivation as I thought I might. My co-worker who agreed to the challenge stopped last weekend. I was bummed for her but it didn’t slow me down at all. Go me!

3) I like Quizno’s pesto turkey ciabatta toasties A LOT. And I miss them.

 

 

One thought on “Friday Foodlets: Part 2

  1. Pingback: Friday Foodlets: Week 3 | ZenFichey

Leave a Reply

