Friday Foodlets: Week 3

Welcome to the latest installment of Friday Foodlets!

For those just tuning in, Fridays are my day to unpack and look at my food choices for the past week. This is part of my #NaturallyNovember food challenge. For the month of November a co-worker and I decided to follow the rules of eating natural, whole foods that are minimally processed.

In last week’s foodlet post I talked about how I hoped to experiment with different food choices. That was a resounding… failure. I was feeling under the weather this week so it took a lot to just make it through work every day. There wasn’t really much energy left over for shopping, cooking, or thinking. Also, I was out of applesauce. Boo. I don’t have pictures this week either but I can do a basic run down of what I had:

Breakfast this week was some red apple with 2-ingredient peanut butter. I only had one apple left though so Thursday and Friday I switched back over to a two egg scramble and a mini honey whole wheat bun with peanut butter. While I still prefer my trusty Jif, this new peanut butter is starting to win me over. The trick is to STIR STIR STIR.

Monday: Lunch was mini turkey sandwiches with cheese, brown mustard, and alfalfa sprouts, red grapes, lightly salted edamame, some raisins, and home-made whole wheat cous cous salad.

Tuesday: Lunch was three turkey and cheese rolls (with brown mustard), red grapes, lightly salted edamame, some raisins, and home-made whole wheat cous cous salad.

Wednesday: Lunch was three turkey and cheese rolls (with brown mustard), red grapes, a brown rice/barley/rye berry mix with black beans, lightly salted edamame, some raisins.

Thursday: Lunch was three turkey and cheese rolls, the last few lightly salted edamame beans, the last few grapes, a babybel mini cheese wheel,  some raisins, and home-made whole wheat cous cous salad.

Friday: Lunch was three pieces of turkey, two babybel mini cheese wheels, a brown rice/barley/rye berry mix with black beans,and some raisins,

Looking back at the week I’m a little disappointed at my lackluster meals, but feeling crummy really made me want to just stuff brownies in my face so, I’m calling it a victory that I still packed healthy and minimally processed foods for every day of the week.

My thoughts for the week:

1) I still really like applesauce.

2) It took a week to adjust to those honey whole wheat rolls but now I actually find myself looking forward to eating them in the morning. I’ll definitely be stopping in at our local bread company this weekend to pick up more.

3) Milk is just not a food item I should buy. Just isn’t. I can’t ever make it through a container before it goes bad.

4) Does a healthy brownie recipe really exist? I’ve been seriously craving brownies.

Leave a Reply

