What happened to being Thankful?

Today I stopped into Starbucks with a  few co-workers. I don’t drink coffee but always enjoy a midday walk to break up the day and re-focus myself. Trips to this particular Starbucks are great people watching opportunities too. Unfortunately my desire to chat and people watch was overruled. Starbucks, you see, took Halloween as a sign that it was already the Christmas season. Complete with advent calendars and Merry Christmas signs. I wish I was kidding.

If you’ve read my blog before you probably know that being thankful is an important part of my daily practice. For me, being thankful for all that we have been given, earned, or fought hard for in this world is essential. While I do my best to always be thankful I take November as my month to highlight this feeling and share it with as many people as I can.

For the past few years I have kept a physical list during the month of November. I find the act of writing commits the item to memory much faster. Each day a new item is added to the list and on Thanksgiving a part of our dinner tradition is to revisit the list. It’s a warm and wonderful way to truly embrace thankfulness.

I wasn’t going to start my list here until next weekend but seeing those Christmas decorations today made me realize I may not be the only one feeling sad about the silence of Thanksgiving. So, without further ado, my first two items for the month:

Nov 1: Today I am thankful for a husband who is teaching me to be more fiscally responsible.

Nov 2: Today I am thankful I have food security. I can fuss about what to eat instead of worrying about when or if I can eat.

What are you thankful for today?

With Love, Mia

Leave a Reply

