Soggy Saturday

The weather has been unseasonably warm lately but the fall sogginess hasn’t missed a beat. I was looking forward to attending a nearby dog adoption event today but was bummed out when I woke up to the sound of rain. I decided to delay the bad news and have a leisurely start to the morning. We showered, dressed, had a small breakfast from downstairs and chatted for a bit over breakfast.

Eventually I had to come to terms with the fact that the rain wasn’t slowing and I’d have to find other plans that didn’t include finding a new best friend. Well, much to my surprise Tony shrugged and said we best get on our way if we didn’t want to miss all the pups. Eeeeee!

The event was wonderful and we saw all sorts of great dogs. I was sad I didn’t get to see the dog I was most interested in meeting but I knew it wasn’t realistic to stand there in the rain for hours waiting for him to arrive. It was a steady rain and neither of us had umbrellas. Tony had already been such a great sport standing in the rain for a good solid hour as I cuddled soggy fuzzy faces and got wet puppy kisses so we dried off running some errands and warmed our bellies with some Thai food.

After lunch, Tony suggested we head back and see if my internet dog star had arrived yet. What a great guy! Of course I couldn’t say no. We wandered around poking at puppies for another hour as it turned out my friend had been further delayed on his way to the event. We were both chilled so Tony recommended we make a pit stop at a nearby Starbucks to pass the time. (Seriously, what did I do to deserve this guy?!) One Chai and potty stop later we finally met my friend. Cute little guy.

We went home empty handed but I really enjoyed an afternoon of getting and giving love and cuddles. The rest of our day was dedicated to video games and our current obsession (Blacklist). All in all an awesome day, even with all that rain.

I hope you guys are enjoying your weekend and finding a way to share the love.

With love, Mia


Nov 7: Today I am thankful that I have the luxury of days off. Spending time with my husband is pretty much the best thing there is.

Leave a Reply

