Making a Pit Stop

Trying out a prompt today. This one’s from the NaBloPoMo prompt list:

What is the first thing you do every single day (I mean, after you hit the snooze button)? When did that step in your routine begin?

I’ll be honest, I stared at that prompt for at least a solid minute trying to figure out what happens in the morning after I hit the snooze button. Does hitting the snooze button again count?

I wish I could say something adorable like “the first thing I do is kiss my love” or “I stretch and let out an adorable yawn”. Heck, I’d even settle for “curse the sun for shining and hide under my blankets”. I have to keep it real though. The first step in my morning routine is to go to the bathroom. Rain or shine, sick or healthy, working or relaxing, doesn’t matter. And let me just say, delaying my morning trip to the bathroom should be done at your own risk, and I wouldn’t recommend it.

When did this habit enter my routine and why? Using the bathroom has been my first purposeful act of each day for longer than I can remember. Old habits die hard I guess. While it isn’t the most exciting first habit I do want to thank my parents for teaching me the importance of proper potty habits from a very young age.

I also use the bathroom before leaving my location if I expect to be gone for more than 1/2 an hour and I always try to make a pit stop before getting in a car or on public transit. All of which are habits I highly recommend.

And let me tell you, all it takes is one 13hr commute in a snow storm to remind you why you should have gone to the bathroom before you left work. Let’s just say my car was, uh, never quite the same. You’re welcome.

With Love, Mia


Nov 9: Today I am thankful for indoor plumbing. (Yay toilets!)

Leave a Reply

