Potlucky

I’ve had a difficult year at work with an unpleasant and abusive co-worker. That year was only a step in a series of unfortunate events. In October I was traded to a new team. Another step down this crazy path they were pushing me down. The situation at work is still very unpleasant and pushing my limits of zen but my new teammates?

Simply amazing.

They are the most caring people I’ve met in a long time and I wish I had found them sooner. I’m still struggling to work through some of the issues at work, but with them, I have never felt more welcomed and appreciated.

Today we had a potluck lunch to celebrate Thanksgiving. I’m odd and uncomfortable at those events but I enjoyed myself. We shared food, family stories, work stories, it was just a pleasant time all around. And oh my gosh, the delicious food. MMMMMmmmm.

As they told their stories and laughed together I rested my head against the back of the conference room chair and smiled, taking it all in. I didn’t have to be guarded, there was no motive behind their kindness. It was heart-felt and real. For the first time in a long time I felt like I was part of a team again. For however briefly, this was my new team now. And they were wonderful.

With Love, Mia


Nov 24: Today I am thankful for warm hearts and a shared table.

Leave a Reply

